A Story from our e-Book Winner

Thank you to Fran Rupley for sending in a heartwarming story about her bedroom set and the memories it brings up for her. Fran is the winner of our e-book giveaway!

Here’s Fran’s story.

dresser

“It was 1960; I was 16 years old and had my own bedroom for the first time, instead of sharing with my sister. The whole family went to a local auction where I spent my own $125 to buy a used bedroom set, $5 for an old rocking chair, and $5 for a box of old books, which to my surprise contained a hand-written diary of a teen girl from 1916!

I am now looking here for inspiration on downsizing, especially after last year’s experience downsizing my 90-year-old mother from a 3-bedroom home to a small supervised senior apartment. An estate sale brought pennies on the dollar cost of her excess possessions, and the sales agents kept half. Many unsold items went to a thrift store, recycle, or trash. We did not have a lot of time to relocate her, due to health concerns.

At least I do have the luxury of time before I am forced to downsize, but with a large home and property to maintain, that time is growing shorter for my 73-year-old husband and my almost 70-year-old self.

I still have my auction treasures; the bedroom set was our first after our marriage. Over the years, it went from it’s factory ivory paint, to avocado green in the 70′s, to colonial blue in my Early American phase, and finally to a professional staining and refinishing, and is proudly used in a guest room. My Dad first helped me paint my rocking chair bright blue; I remember using it to rock my little son, who is now 45! The chair is also now refinished and in the guest room.

But now the diary and many other small treasures are being listed and sold on Ebay. My extra bedrooms are becoming only guest rooms instead of more space to put things. I can’t yet sell much of the furniture, and most of the rest will not go be able to go with us; however, I do hope for 2 bedrooms, so I can keep my treasured teen bedroom set and rocking chair!”

 

One Response

  1. […] and challenged you to tell us your stories – including a wonderful one about the memories of a treasured family item.  And sometimes you’ve told us a story – about living with less. We’ve also talked about how […]

Leave a Reply

