Share a Story, Win an e-Book

Moving_On_COVERB_3

In honor of Women’s History Month, now coming to an end, we would like to hear from you, our readers, about the women in your life. Share a story with us, by leaving a comment to this post, and we will choose one lucky winner to receive a copy of our new, updated e-book, Moving On: A Practical Guide to Downsizing the Family Home.

Share a family story about any of the women in your life – mother, grandmother, aunt, daughter, teacher, mentor. Recount a favorite family story, tell us about a treasured family object, describe a particular family quirk. What objects has your family kept over the years? What do the objects mean to you? What are your fondest family memories?

We look forward to hearing what makes your family special, how your family handles its treasures, how you keep and pass along the family memories.

The deadline for entries is Monday, April 7, 2014.

Thanks for being part of our extended “family” of readers!

Linda Hetzer and Janet Hulstrand are coauthors of Moving On: A Practical Guide to Downsizing the Family Home, now available as an e-book.

2 Responses

  1. It was 1960; I was 16 years old and had my own bedroom for the first time, instead of sharing with my sister. The whole family went to a local auction where I spent my own $125 to buy a used bedroom set, $5 for an old rocking chair, and $5 for a box of old books, which to my surprise contained a hand-written diary of a teen girl from 1916!

    I am now looking here for inspiration on downsizing, especially after last year’s experience downsizing my 90-year-old mother from a 3-bedroom home to a small supervised senior apartment. An estate sale brought pennies on the dollar cost of her excess possessions, and the sales agents kept half. Many unsold items went to a thrift store, recycle, or trash. We did not have a lot of time to relocate her, due to health concerns.

    At least I do have the luxury of time before I am forced to downsize, but with a large home and property to maintain, that time is growing shorter for my 73-year-old husband and my almost 70-year-old self.

    I still have my auction treasures; the bedroom set was our first after our marriage. Over the years, it went from it’s factory ivory paint, to avocado green in the 70’s, to colonial blue in my Early American phase, and finally to a professional staining and refinishing, and is proudly used in a guest room. My Dad first helped me paint my rocking chair bright blue; I remember using it to rock my little son, who is now 45! The chair is also now refinished and in the guest room.

    But now the diary and many other small treasures are being listed and sold on Ebay. My extra bedrooms are becoming only guest rooms instead of more space to put things. I can’t yet sell much of the furniture, and most of the rest will not go be able to go with us; however, I do hope for 2 bedrooms, so I can keep my treasured teen bedroom set and rocking chair!

  2. Thank you, Fran, for the wonderful story about the bedroom set from your teen years.

Leave a Reply

